The City of Sheboygan Falls has a fascinating history. Since the grassroots of becoming a town in 1835, the town has expanded into becoming a city in 1913 and has grown to over 7,500 inhabitants in 2009. Col. Silas Stedman founded Sheboygan Falls. It was purchased through a public land sale in Green Bay in 1835. Stedman, along with other numerous families, traversed from the east in search of growth and prosperity. Falls had a multiplicity of businesses that have contributed to its long history. The Stedman mill, the Mattoon Chair and Spindle Company, the Taylor Brothers sash, Prentice Woolen Mills, Bemis, Curt Joa, Rochester Lumber, Richardson’s Lumber, and numerous others have made Sheboygan Falls into the city that it is today. The many pioneers of the town and their children have created many opportunities for families to come and settle in Sheboygan Falls over the past 174 years. Along with the families came the responsibility to lead a growing community forward.

“From the Foundation Onward”:
Sheboygan Falls’ Mayors By Zachary J. Vis

Mayors of Sheboygan Falls

  • Herman E. Boldt (1913-1918)
  • Stanton De Long (1918-1922)
  • Edward H. Blust (1922-1926)
  • William O. Dassow (1926-1928)
  • Oscar A. Damrow (1928-1934)
  • Frederick Leighton (1934-1936)
  • Ed gar A. George (1936-1938)
  • John Houwers Jr. (1938-48)
  • Gustave Holmgren (1948-1950)
  • Andrew Kohlhagen (1950-1962)
  • Donald E. Koehn (1962)
  • Roland Ivan Anderson (1962-1970)
  • Ronald A. Born (1970-1976)
  • Gladys Morken Bohenstengel (1976-1980)
  • Robert E. Born (1980-1988)
  • Richard M. Micoliczyk (1988-1992)
  • Joseph V. Heidemann (1992-1994)
  • David O. Specht (1994-2004)
  • Randy J. Meyer (2004- Present)